Visit Zenmtech at rc.zenmtech.com

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Scale Heli Question: Lights for Hughes500D

Hi guys,

I'm new to scale helis but I'm trying to put together a Hughes500D fuselage on my 450X Trex. Have some questions I hope you can help answer:

- what is the lighting arrangement on the Hughes500D? From what I can see it should have a red and green permanent light on the skids, and then two red strobes on the main heli body (one up top and one below)? And one landing light at the lower front of the body?

- What kind of LED do you recommend for me to use? Best to go look around SIM LIM or is there a recommended assembled set I can get from somewhere?

- Should I run the lights off the main lipo or use a separate battery? For separate battery I'm concerned about weight as it's a Trex. If I use the main lipo I guess I need some specific circuitry?

Hope you guys can offer me some advice.

One other non-lighting related question... what's the best glue to use to assemble the fuselage (e.g. attach tail fins, landing skid supports, etc)? I read that GOOP is a good choice?

Thanks in advance.

Hi Bloodclod

Welcome to the world of scale flying.

For the navigation lights in real MD-500E, please check out this post:

In summary:
    Green on the right at the tip of the landing skids. Some MD-500E has the light just below the pilot cockit door instead.
    Red on the left at the tip of landing skids. Some MD-500E has the light just below the pilot cockit door instead.
    White at the top of the "T" tail section.
    Red/White rotating beacon on the tail (Middle of T tail section).
    Red beacon of the belly of the heli.
    Possible white spot/high lights at the middle of the heli's nose (suspect for pilot navigations and landing during night time).