Visit Zenmtech at rc.zenmtech.com

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Skookum SK-720 & SK-GPS

Hi,

I bought a Trex 700E DFC recently. I have been using the Skookum SK540 for a few months now and very happy with its performance and the confidence it gives me. I thought with the new Trex 700E, perhaps it is a good opportunity for me to try out the topnotch FBL, SK720 with the GPS module. I like to try out the self leveling and rescue features. So, I bought the SK720 + GPS as a combo from Zenm Tech. As combo, I got a free power bus (for power distribution), LCD terminal (this is useful for tuning the heli at the field without a PC), T-shirt, Tx neck strap, a small bag and a nice BE box, LOL. The SK720 can work without the GPS module, so you don’t have to buy the GPS if you don’t want to.

The setup for the SK-720 is almost the same as the SK540, using the same software but with some additional settings when software detects that it is a SK720. Setting of the GPS is also through the same software.

While SK540 is very “insensitive” to heli vibration (probably the best in all FBLs in term of vibration resistance), meaning mounting is never an issue. In fact, SK540 prefers hard mounting (i.e. mount it using a thin 3M tape). But for SK720 you cannot use hard mounting if you are going to use the self leveling feature as the SK720 uses the accelerometers which is sensitive to vibration. You need to mount the SK720 using the supplied metal plate (non-magnetic), thick foam tape, and the thin 3M tape. The SK720 comes with a very good vibration analysis feature which will help to check if the vibration is acceptable to the FBL for self leveling purpose. If the vibration is too high, the SL will not work. The vibration analysis can almost pinpoint where is the heli vibration come from. I like it very much.