Collapse

Visit Zenmtech at rc.zenmtech.com

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lone flyer sloping in Sedili 2008

This is my first attempt at Sloping in Sedili, I decided to do it all after a few failed attempt at Bedok Slope where the wind is rather unpredictable every time I was there.

After consulting our glider guru Joe Yap on the Sedili Trip, I head out to Sedili to try my luck. Stayed there for 3 days 2 night over the New Year holidays for some sloping funfly.

As you can see, I am all alone, got no camera man to record the flight Sigh! the wind speed is just fantastic, endless lift round the clock. The lift was so strong I had a hard time struggling to stabilize my glider while trying to launch it off the cliff myself, when I finally manage to heave it into the wind, it just just went ballistic - straight up! Wow, what a rush!!! I reckon the wind must be blowing 30-40 knots or more.

My first attempt in landing almost ended in disaster as I have to circled for nearly half an hour trying to land my Easy glider, every time I try to come in for a landing, it was just came too hot, I tried all sorts of manunver but it just won't slow down in high winds. In the end, I came in a little fast and overshot past my landing mark, clipping the plane elevator on the bench - easy fix.

On another attempt while trying to land in strong wind conditions, I flew into the no lift zone on the far right among the cluster of trees, my glider was just suck straight into the trees 50 feet high when I was circling to land. Fortunately, I was fortunate to meet this nice 20 year old local girl who offered to climb up the tree to retrieve it for me. Glad to come home with my glider in one piece, all in all, it was a good learning experience. I will definately be returning for more...........let me know if anyone keen.