Collapse

Visit Zenmtech at rc.zenmtech.com

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to choose suitable ESC for particular motor

hi guys, i'm new here and grateful for this forum to share ideas.

i have a question. how do you guys choose the suitable ESC for your particular motor?

for e.g. i have a motor which a maximum current rating of 18A. does it mean that my ESC should have a current rating of more than 18A? is this the only criteria?

thanks.

On the safe side, the rule of thumb is to choose an ESC 1.2 times the max current drawn rated by the motor. Hope this helped. Cheers!

Comment

More Lipo = more RPM?

Hi Macdream,

I am quite new to electric RC. I wanted to get more out of my in-runner motor. Will adding more Lipo cells increase the performance of the motor? I have a 4900 Kv motor installed on a 36" Zagi (350gram total weight) using a 4.75" APC pusher propeller. I used a 30A ESC and a 2-cell lipo (7.4V, 20C, 1300Mah) and also a 3-cell lipo (11.1V, 20C, 1400Mah) - it gives a lot of power. What happens if I install a 4-cell lipo (14.8V, 25C) battery? Will it gives more RPM and hence more speed?

I think I have already accidentally fried 2 motors and 1 ESC literally caught fire while flying. Maybe I should invest in a watt meter to investigate.

Comment

More cells, same motor kv, same ESC = more amp draw. U will be frying another ESC.

Comment

Just bought a Watts Up

I bought a Watts Up meter from Hobby City and tested all my electronic setup. Quite a lot of surprises!

For my Zagi, my setup:

Motor: KB20-40-12L, Max Amp: 20A, 4800kv
          ESC: 30A
          Lipo: 1300Mah, 2-cell, 7.4V, 20C
          Prop: APC4.75x4.75 pusher

The results of the test:

Max Amp drawn: 38A!
          Power: 260W

Yes, I am frying my motor and battery!! I will switch to a 25A ESC for another test.

Comment

Beside using a Watt meter, is there any manual calculation to determind the amp draw and power??

Comment

Originally posted by MeePokMan View Post