Visit Zenmtech at rc.zenmtech.com

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Safety Issues-Query from a JW Resident

Greetings all!

I'm a resident staying opposite the field (where Corporation Primary School is) ultilised by some for RC flight purposes. Haha not gonna complain about the noise level .

Joined this forum so that I could enquire about some safety issues hehehe

I noticed some of RC flyers are stationed near the edge of the field, perhaps only about 3-4 metres away from the pedestrian pavement. As like last Sunday, there were the peeps having a game of football, a family having a go at flying a kite, joggers and a flyer.

My concern is this:

What if a flyer fails to control his aeroplane/helicopter and it flies beyond the field, towards the pavement and the road? Might injure a passer-by/hit a vehicle. Or towards the other people on the field.

Are there safety measures in place to guard against such incidents?

Thanks.

i dont think that there is any "foolproof" safety system. if someone else gets inured because of an aircraft hitting them, i would think the only solution is negotiation between both parties.
    If a pilot loses control of his aircraft, all he can do is to warn the nearby ppl by shouting out to them.
    We are doing our part by flying in empty and big fields(hard to find in SG) that are 'ulu' so that there is no one around. U dont see ppl flying nitro helis in their neighbourhood so as to prevent accident OR EVEN DEATHS.
    rotor blades spinning at 1900RPM will surely injure someone BADLY.

Not to mention, there was an accident at bukit batok flying club. FYI, it is located just beside a road with trees blocking view.I heard from others that a heli lost control and flew out and crashed into a car .
    At another location in tampines, a heli oso lost control and crashed into PLAB.
    thankfully the pilot owned up.Police and CID were involved in this case as it was a posible terror attack.