Visit Zenmtech at rc.zenmtech.com

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dilemma between Helis for newbie

Hi guys,
    Just started with the heli so I am a complete newbie.. just bought a flight sim and DX8 .. now looking to buy a new kit... so here is the dilemma..

Initially wanted to get 450 Pro.. but not particularly fond of the overall built and I like to buy parts to piece it together..

ATOM 500 - 80% built but I am bit intimidated by the size but hey the parts can be bought locally when I crash.. but the cost of buying the 6S will push the price upwards..

MIni PRotos 450 - like the sound and look but...seems to be flimsy.. but when I work out the cost of the kit ,servos and electronics excluding the batteries.. it differs from the ATOM 500 by a few dollars..

Then I flew the RAVE 450 on the flight sim.. boy it is super stable and it looked awesome compared to the rest of the helis.. so is it that good and how is it compared to the Mini Protos and the BEAM V2.. I kinda of guess that the parts for RAVE 450 is pretty much non existent here .. I dont mind the BEAM too.. if it is as good.. so anyone want to give their 2 cents worth..

THanks a million

Joe Tay

yes a 500size heli will be more stable then a 450 but my first heli was a 450...and yes i crash as i was training but not during hovering stage but when i started figure8's...i thank the simulator for not crashing during the hovering stage...but back to the topic...if u crash a 500size heli, parts will be definitely more $$$ then a 450 crash for example blades...but if your choice is trex450pro or a miniprotos then i would say mini protos as it is belt not torque tube....my personal choice for a 450 would be the Trex450Sport super combo....which ever u choose and if it makes u happy then go for it...cheers and welcome to the rc heli community...good luck
    Gravity Always Wins.....

Comment

The Rave 450 runs on 360 mm blades.

The mini protos runs on 325 mm blades. A stretched kit will be out soon.