Collapse

Visit Zenmtech at rc.zenmtech.com

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Flaps and navigational lights

Some "ambitious" project for new plane, please share your ideas.

I am planning to get a new Cessna plane( foam ) tomorrow ( ) from our LHS and start assembling it. But I would like to make flaps for the plane while working on the assembly lines.

I have some experience on throwing flaps around with my EasyStar, which make use of the ailerons to work as flaps too. The flaps works great, slowing the plane down during approach and didn't have much problem at all.

However since I make use of the ailerons for flaps, I cannot roll the plane much at all since the ailerons are all down. The mixing from my DX6i still allows some small movement from the aileron ( which is now flaps ) but the servo throws will be maxed out as soon as I roll the plane.

EasyStar original designs uses the rudder to induce rolls for the plane to turn. What was possible on an EasyStar is probably non-applicable on a Cessna plane because rolls will need to be positively controlled by the dedicated ailerons for a Cessna. That is my guesstimation of a Cessna from my experience flying the Estarter - it really need aileron to turn the plane. Rudder is absolutely ineffective for these planes.

I am guesstimating, the surface area should be at least equal or larger than the ailerons surface area to be effective ?

Thinking of how do I wire up the flaps to the servo horns.

Anyone did flaps for their planes I would appreciate their contribution or pictures

If the flaps can be built and work, will be interesting to see how it land and take off.

I like realism and scales pretty much, that is why I try to make for a realistic landing , try to avoid belly landing.

Below is a sketch design for the flaps. Red will be flaps. Green is going to be the original aileron.