Collapse

Visit Zenmtech at rc.zenmtech.com

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

EDF 3 Blades or 4 Blades?

Hi everyone. I am new to EDF and have tested under a layman concept of the 3 blade fan and a 4 blade fan. Need help & assistance / comments

I have the followings:

1) 3 blade fan & 4 blade fan with the same pitch
    2) BL motor 4400KV with efficiency of 85%
    3) 2650mah 30C 3s lipo

1st setup
    ------------
    4 blade fan with BL motor. When i hold the fan unit in my hands, full throttle and it shoots up 30cm away from ground. 2.30mins max to 3.65V

2nd setup
    ------------
    3 blade fan with BL motor. When i hold the fan in my hands, full throttle and it barely lift up, perhaps 10cm from ground. 3.00mins max to 3.65V

Though the lift is not as great as the other setup, i am still able to feel the pressure & wind powerfully generated. But looking on other threads in the forum, the one under 6 blades to 3 blades convertion, isnt the 3 blades setup supposed to bring my plane to a higher speed?

Does the 4 blades setup = more torque = more speed = more static trust= more acceleration?

Static trust
    ------------

If my plane weights in total of 600g.
    3 blade static thrust = 700g. = 100g more than the plane
    4 blade static thrust = 900g. = 300g more than the plane

which will make my plane faster? or i can just ignore the additional more grams as long it covers or equals to the plane weight?

Please help. Deaply appreciation for any replies post on thread.

Cheers

Hi Mirage2K, using a 4050Kv motor on the 3blade and 4 blade is not a good way to compare. Obviously the 4blade will load the motor than the 3blade and produce more static thrust.

In my experiment I use a 6 blade with a 3055KV motor than check the power and current.
    I cut down the 6blade to 3 blade by removing 3 alternate blade and use it with a 4050KV motor.

It appear that both setup uses about the same power .
    I tested both setup on the same aircraft.