Collapse

Visit Zenmtech at rc.zenmtech.com

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

EDF Help

Hi, I'm building an F-14 tomcat model from EPF.

I need some help and advice on the chioce of electric powerplants to use.

Should i use what they recommend on the site?

Or

The typhoon and wemotec 480 combination?

I'm kinda new to edf systems... so i need some advice

i'm looking for speed and power for my model.

thankz
    DUCT DUCT DUCT GO!!!!

their site is www.rc-epf.com
    DUCT DUCT DUCT GO!!!!

Comment

looks good. hows the model quality and are you using retracts?

pics please

Comment

hi tom,

u may want to PM freeman, he is building everything as per what was recommended.

bear

Comment

Hi TomcatFLYER,

As the EPF Tomcat uses a 70mm fan you should have no trouble using either a WeMoTec Mini Fan 480 or a HET-6904 Fan.
          Combined with a Typhoon 2W at 3S or a Typhoon 3W at 4S this will give you close to 1000 Watt combined power. Unlimited verticals shouldn't be a problem as the planes fuselage should be very light.

Only a few concerns:

1. The Motors together with the fan will create a much higher airflow then stock fan so you have to make sure that your intake ducting will not collapse due to the low pressure area created by the airflow (I have not yet had a look at the F-14 construction). As example the early Composite F-16s from HET had problems with a collapsing intake duct when used with a 2W-20 motor (and in some cases even with the 2W and 3W).

2. Batteries required (and ESC). The Motors will draw the following currents at full throttle. As you need 2 of them you need to double the required current draw . You see you need big packs in order to support the 2W and 2W-20 motors. A good option would be a 3W on 4S or even a 4W on 5S. Measure the plane first to see if you have enough space in the fuselage (also considering the CG) before you decide to upgrade.

Typhoon 2W with 3S Lipo: 60A each
          Typhoon 3W with 4S Lipo: 36A each