Collapse

Visit Zenmtech at rc.zenmtech.com

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

F-16 scratchbuild 68mm EDF bluefoam

Hi guys. This is my lastest scratch build project so far. And i must say this is one my longest project i ever planned + building. Even i set aside 5hours a day ,i took nearly 2 weeks to complete.

My goal:
    -is to build a f-16 weighing under 700grams
    -Build it before 9th august (national day)
    -Make it as realistic as possible (looks as real as a f-16)
    -I'm going for maneuverability rather then speed
    -Lastly, paint a RSAF blackknight scheme on it!

Firstly, I start off by finding f-16 plans on the web...which i'm unable to do so. Even though parkjets has 4 F-16 plans , They require hot water foam bending which requires 6mm depron. (i have no experience in that) Futhermore i'm using blue foam for this build.

I Downloaded a 3 plan-view from the net... which is supposingly the REAL f-16 build plan. The plan came out pretty small from my printer so i had to rescale it up 5times by drawing on a piece of majong paper. Which probably took me 5days i draw...tons of calculation especially calculating each cross-sectional area of the EDF with decreasing area from intake to exhuast. Big headache.

I use the rule of thumb 120% FSA for intake and 90%FSA for exhuast.

Build it
    Fly it
    Crash it
    Fix it

Very nice, May I know how do you calculate the 120% intake and 90% outlet FSA? How far can we recduce the outlet to on a 68mm?

Comment

Originally posted by Alvin Roger View Post
      Very nice, May I know how do you calculate the 120% intake and 90% outlet FSA? How far can we recduce the outlet to on a 68mm?
      researched have shown that you can accelerate air to its maximum potential at 80% FSA any smaller it'll have reverse effect and efficiency decreases. Same goes to inlet..., too big means more draggy , too small, you'll starve the EDF to death! It won't breath..haha
      Build it
      Fly it
      Crash it