Visit Zenmtech at rc.zenmtech.com

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to expand a gear hole

Hi All,

I need to expand a hole in the center of a gear made of plastic. I tried using a bench press and the gear's center got shifted. I believe that the material might have melted and caused this to happen and since the material is plastic I cannot firmly grip it. I have the same gear in brass. I don't want to take the risk of doing it again as it is expensive. Can anybody let me know what would be the best method to do it by retaining the center? Please note that my background is in the design of ICs and I hardly have any working knowledge of lathe and mills

Regards,
    ashare

Can you post pictures of the gear, and tell us what is the current and desired hole diameter.
    Everyone has to start this hobby as newbie.

Comment

use a round file and take your time

If the gear is made of plastic, you can use a reamer. Else a round file works well too. Just take your time and work in 1 direction, don't use excessive force and the file will bite evenly giving you a larger hole while maintaining the center.

Comment

Attached are the pictures of the gear. The pic in the gear is already 8mm dia with a shifted center. Gear hole by default is 5mm. I need 8mm. I don't mind changing to brass gear if I can get things done with more precision. <br> <br>
        Attached Files

Comment

You need to do this on a lathe or cnc machine. Can't do it manually, difficult to get accuracy you need.
          Either some bros here have the lathe/cnc machine and want to help, or you can try SG Tooling at Fook Hai
          see if Mike can help you (may be you can buy some tools from Mike).

Comment

Thank you for the suggestions. I am not too sure about the hand reamer technique. Mike is too busy I believe. I am a foreign student and it doesn't make sense to buy a lot of heavy tools in Singapore. Will check some other alternatives. Thanks again.

Comment