Collapse

Visit Zenmtech at rc.zenmtech.com

X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

ZERO RC Experience- Twin EDF Airbus A330-300 Scratchbuild

Hey guys! As the title says, I'm new to this RC hobby with almost 0 experience. I know quite abit about the physics behind flying and the controls and stuff but a little new to terms like FSA and...can't think of anything now . Well anyway, after reading through the forums, I've been pretty inspired by scratch building projects especially those by Viper1990 cos they're very detailed and about Commercial Airliners which I'm more interested in.

So, because I've always loved how graceful those A330's look in real life, I want to build one too!

Here are some pictures to give you an idea:

Click image for larger version

Name:	1468336.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	406.5 KB
ID:	991164

Name:	8560901590_1d191e245c_o.jpg
Size:	335.2 KB
ID:	991165

Name:	8560901668_a040bd5b83_o.jpg
Size:	363.0 KB
ID:	991166

I've already gotten basic plans (from the Airbus website) and a rough idea of the scaling I want, about 1:45, which would give me a wingspan of about 1.34m. I'm still working out how I'm going to get the

1. Shape of the fuselage
    2. Shape of the wing's airfoil (I calculated about 30 degrees of sweep at the leading edge and 20 degrees at the trailing edge)
    3. Weight??
    4. Winglets attached
    5. Engine placement
    [B]6. Flaps
    Okay there's more but I'll post them later

As for the Tail and Horizontal Stabilisers, I thought of using the scale measurements that I'll calculate shortly...

As for a Hot Wire, well I'm still working on it (mainly whether its like safe anot or whether I should get the pre-made ones from ArtFriend)

I've already tracked down a couple of things I may buy:

1. Foam from ArtFriend (not sure about which size yet)
    2. 2 EDFs (should be enough I hope)http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s..._Version_.html
    3. 2 ESCs (not sure which one to get) http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...to_39_Amp.html